Ways to network

Join a nonprofit organization that offers networking opportunities. Not only are you benefiting the organization but also yourself!

Here’s a few examples of how I have begun to network:

* I am currently interning at an Art Center as the Development Coordinator as well as working full time as a case manager. Well I made the decision, knowing how important networking is, to join an organization, Hispanic Professionals of Greater Milwaukee, to meet professionals. At the event, not only did I mingle (pretty impressed with myself) but I also met the previous Foundations Director of a financial corporation who had attended several events at the art center!

It was very exciting to be getting my name out there and to meet more professionals. I have also, requested to be on a committee to not only help out the organization but also to have more opportunities to speak with more professionals.

After all, I feel as though you can climb the career ladder better if you know the right people. Unfortunately, thats how I feel the world works… it’s all about who you know. If I’m wrong, let me know, but thats just how it feels.

* My aunt is on a school board and asked if I would be interested in joining the school board of my old high school. Working in the nonprofit world… it is a HUGE bonus to be on a nonprofit board. Naturally, I jumped at the chance!

After having two interviews and submitted my resume, I was officially offered a position on the board 2 weeks ago. Turns out, my aunt also knows a board member at the art center I intern at and said amazing things about me to her!

I had also mentioned the invitation to join the board to the director of my full-time job. Not only did she congratulate but asked that I stand during an all staff meeting and announce my great news.

It was an accomplished and great feeling to have co-workers (and the Executive Director!) congratulating me.

Not trying to toot my horn or raise myself up but its a great feeling when you know you’re doing good work and you’re acknowledged for it. Makes you want to keep working and it lets your employer know that you care about issues and other people.

About vanecarmona

I am currently a graduate working in an entry level position, while learning how to make my up the career ladder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ways to network

  1. simongregor says:

    Good for you! I agree, it’s so important to get your name and face known, and if you can do so in a way which gives something back to your community, then so much the better. Keep at it!

Leave a Reply

